Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

September 15, 2014

by Noam Kroll

There is a Massive Quality Difference Between FCP X & Premiere Pro – Guess Which One Is Far Better At Compression?

Cinematographer and editor Noam Kroll tests out video compression using the same settings on both Apple Final Cut Pro X and Adobe Premiere Pro.

He writes, “On a recent project of mine though, I noticed that when using my standard H.264 settings in Adobe Premiere Pro the result of the final product didn’t look quite right. It was blocky, over compressed, and even the colors seemed a bit off. I even went back and re-exported the file to make sure that all my settings were in place – including checking off ‘Use Maximum Render Quality’, but still I had the same poor results. So I went back to FCP X and did an output using the exact same settings and there was absolutely no question that the FCP X output looked far better. I ran this same test again using Compressor and Adobe Media Encoder and had the exact same results.”

Read the full post here.

FCPX-Compression

Premiere-Compression

In my recently released Guide To Capturing Cinematic Images With Your DSLR, I go into detail on compression, workflows, color grading and more (amongst lots of camera/lighting tips). So if you’re interested be sure to click here to learn more. 

Written by Noam Kroll

Noam Kroll

Noam Kroll is an award winning Los Angeles based filmmaker, and founder of the boutique production company Creative Rebellion.